The start of it all

I first took Seroxat (Paxil in the USA) in 1997. I finally decided to stop taking it in May 2004 and it then took me 22 months to slowly wean off the drug. All in all I have lost almost 10 years of my life to this drug.

I want to share with you what I’ve found out since May 2004. I’ve discovered how dangerous SSRIs can be and how dangerous the big drug companies are – especially GlaxoSmithKline (who make Seroxat).

I think at this point I must mention the drug regulators here in the UK (The MHRA) and the FDA in America. If you’re new to all this you might think they are the organisations that we can trust to keep us safe from nightmare drugs like Seroxat.

Not the case I’m afraid.

The public has been let down by them on all too many occasions. I’ve become very cynical since May 2004 and as I’ve learnt more and more and I have to say it looks from here as if the MHRA and The FDA are more concerned with protecting the Pharmaceutical companies than protecting the public.

There’s a lot of money to be made from selling new drugs to the world – a lot of money indeed. It doesn’t seem to matter if the drugs don’t quite work as well as they should or if people can become addicted to them. In the case of Seroxat, Glaxo has simply hidden trial data that shows how dangerous Seroxat really is.

In this Blog I’ll be naming and shaming the guilty and I’ll be telling the truth about Seroxat.

Leave a Reply

