Seroxat & Asthma

Have you dveloped Asthma or breathing difficulties while taking Seroxat or while withdrawing from the drug?

It seems Glaxo might be sensitive about any link between Seroxat and Asthma.

15 Responses to “Seroxat & Asthma”

  1. bux2222 Says:

    yes i have deffinately developed breathing problems since my withdrawal from seroxat,it feels like there just isnt enough air to satisfy my lungs,yes i deffinately wheeze now too.

  2. G Says:

    I developed adult-onset asthma after I started taking Paxil. At first I just noticed I was yawning a lot in order to make up for my inability to get enough oxygen. Eventually it developed into asthma and now I have three additional prescriptions in order to handle the asthma.

  3. pythia Says:

    Had to start using a beta stimulating inhaler shortly after going on Seroxat but didn´t make the connection at the time. In withdrawal I got even worse breathlessness but the inhaler does not work for it.

    I´d like to remind any readers that it has been established that newborn babies whose mothers have been on SSRIs while pregnant and who suffer withdrawal problems in many cases suffer from PPH (persistent pulmonary hypertension), a devastating disease. This may very well also be the case for all the adults who suffer from breathlessness after withdrawing.

  4. Mandy Says:

    I stopped Paxil suddenly 9 days ago and my asthma, which is always mild and well controlled, has been horrendous. The first few days were uncontrolable coughing, wheezing and a runny nose and it has now reduced to an annoying cough. I went searching for ‘asthma and paxil withdrawal’ info and found this site. If the pharmaceutical companies admitted to these symptoms then there would be better awareness and advice on how to deal with them.
    If anyone wonders why I came off suddenly inspite of all the advice it is because I had less anxiety and found it easier in the past – even though I had severe vertico like syptoms for a week.

  5. Indy Says:

    I have been Paxil free for a month and a half now–Thank God!
    I too have noticed breathing or Asthma problems since getting off of it. I am getting a chest x-ray, blood test, and seeing my doctor to find out why or if Paxil did this to me. I am not weeding out that fact it could be mental (anxiety related).
    Please get an Immuno blood test which tests allergies.
    When I take Xanax or Adavan I am fine and my “breathing” difficulties go away. So you may want to try that too.

  6. Dr Volker Says:

    SSRIs increase free serotonin levels in the bloodstream. Almost everyone has increased free serotonin levels during an asthma attack. Tianeptine (Stablon/Coaxil), a selective serotonin reuptake enhancer, has been shown to dramatically improve asthma by reducing free serotonin. It is also of value in pulmonary hypertension and reduces diastolic blood pressure.

    Treatment of bronchial asthma with tianeptine. [Methods Find Exp Clin Pharmacol. 2004] – PubMed Result

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15632955?ordinalpos=1&itool=EntrezSystem2.PEntrez.Pubmed.Pubmed_ResultsPanel.Pubmed_DiscoveryPanel.Pubmed_Discovery_RA&linkpos=2&log$=relatedreviews&logdbfrom=pubmed

  7. Lars Fredriksson Says:

    Well, I haven’t used Seroxat, but I did try Zoloft. I noticed after a few hours that my asthma-related cough increased quite drastically but that stopped after taking Atarax (which due to the anti-cholinergic effects dilates and dries out the airways). The next day, I started feeling slight breathlessness just like if I were running when I was just walking slowly etc… After stopping Zoloft alltogether these effects went away within 2 days.

    Due to the fact that serotonin by itself can obstruct the airways – and increase the release of histamin – these effects are not really that strange. However, for guys with asthma, SSRIs could pose a serious risk.

  8. Nicholas Christie Says:

    Hi all, I’m on Seroxat 11 years and it truly changed my life. However there are a few issues with it that,with management, can be overcome. Firstly, NEVER come off it fast! You must cut the dose over a period of 6-12 months! Otherwise you will experience electric shocks and dizziness, and psychological effects (ie your depression or anxieties will return too fast and cannot be easily managed.) Secondly, if you experience night time restless legs and arms, or breathing difficulties / mucus build up, my advice is to reduce dose by upto 10% and see if that helps! My dose of 20mg per day is now around 17mg and both symptoms have reduced significantly! Don’t listen to GSK or doctors- you know your own body! 10% reduction has not affected my depression symptoms one little bit and yet I can sleep now (no RLS and breathing much better!)

    My advice to everyone is, for crying out loud PLEASE don’t cone off the drug if it’s helping you and manage doses sensibly to avoid withdrawals or side effects. Don’t rubbish GSK- all drugs have side effects. You need to manage the pros and cons to make it a positive experience for YOU!

    • admin Says:

      Hi Nick – I think you’ve got it wrong when you say coming off too fast will make your depression or anxieties return… that’s just plain wrong. What is happening is that you are suffering from withdrawal symptoms – nothing is returning – it is ALL to do with trying to reduce Seroxat.

      As for not rubbishing GSK – read about the way GSK lied and cheated to get Seroxat to market (search study 329) for a start… look at some of the videos on this site…

      I completely reserve my right to rubbish GSK – they should be ashamed of themselves.

      • Nicholas Christie Says:

        I think, with respect you are missing the point. All drugs have side effects. And they must be managed. That’s all. You are blaming a drug company that is manufacturing a drug that saves lives and transforms others. You cannot deny the fact that it transformed mine because I’m telling you that it did. I get angry when people like you attack a company because I feel it’s an attack on my right to live a normal life. GSK and similar companies, through these drugs have transformed millions of lives. Manage the side affects and stop insisting that others are to blame for your short comings.

        By the way I am not in any way associated with GSK or any such companies. And I speak from my own experience and research. I have nothing to gain from protecting this drug.

      • Nicholas Christie Says:

        And no, YOU are not correct. It is NOTHING to do with withdrawals. You just want it to be a part of withdrawals so you have a case against the company.

        Would you please stop leading people astray and get the facts. There are PHYSIOLOGICAL withdrawals involved in the reduction or cessation of this drug but the psychological effects are WELL-DOCUMENTED, proven and extremely serious, even with a reduction in dosage.

        In my case, I am able to reduce the dose to 17mg per day and alleviate COMPLETELY the physiological side affects while retaining all the psychological benefits of the drug.

        You can try and argue your case but you stand against a sea of similar evidence that indicates that, while the drug can have some side affects (and GSK admits these), the psychological side affects of stoppage or reducing dosage are significant.

        Reducing SEROXAT slowly to a dose that is manageable is feasible but reducing the dose too much can cause significant psychological issues for those prone to depression / anxiety. THIS IS NOT A WITHDRAWAL but an emergence or re-emergence of a previous condition.

        People reading this should be aware that when they suddenly cease or dramatically reduce the dose of the drug, they are significantly placing themselves at risk of the previous or underlying condition that led them to take the drug in the first instance (NOT of a side affect of the drug).

        If anyone from the GSK company wishes to contact me, please indicate here – or equally, anyone from the medical fraternity (or those who say they disagree with me and have experience in this matter) may also do so. I am not a doctor but I have had significant experience with this drug personally and I’d be delighted to indicate my own experiences for research purposes or to inform the public.

        My final word: Don’t blame it on the GSK company. Understand who you are, what your UNDERLYING condition is and compute what you think would happen to YOU if you treat yourself with an effective drug and then stop treating yourself suddenly. Is it a ‘withdrawal’ from the drug or is it that you genuinely have an underlying psychological condition that needs to be addressed and has suddenly stopped being addressed?

        It really is that simple.

      • admin Says:

        Nick – this site is full of facts from medical professionals all over the world. Much cleverer people than me. That you choose to ignore them is your own business.

        Seriously, Nick, it’s 2011 – you need to get your head out of the sand. If you feel you need a crutch that’s fine, but trust me, you would have probably done just as well taking sugar pills for 11 years.

        I’ll tell you what – you’re a pro-Seroxat advocate – you believe what GSK told you. That’s fine, but here’s my challenge. As you know (because GSK told you), Seroxat works by increasing the level of Serotonin in your brain… well, go to a doctor and ask him (or her) to measure the level of Serotonin in your brain right now, then ask him what the ‘correct’ level should be. Go on – that’s how Seroxat works its magic, isn’t it??

        I would be interested to find out the results…

      • Nicholas Christie Says:

        When I was 24 I went through hell with depression. You are a sad individual if you are suggesting to a man of 34 who has hos life back that Seroxat didn’t change that hell.

        I will not grace you with any further replies or posts here as you are only serving to make yourself look stupid.

        If you think that Seroxat is equal to a placebo those reading this will decide on your intelligence.

        Good luck in your obsession to try and conspire against the drug that changed my life. You will fail because the science is not on your side, and there are millions just like me who will line-up against you.

        Best regards

        Nicholas

      • admin Says:

        Why ignore what I’m suggesting?

        THE SCIENCE IS NOT ON YOUR SIDE – what about your Serotonin levels, Nick?

  9. Rebecca Birch Says:

    I have been to hell and back the past 2 yrs with this drug .And trying to come off it has been horific.This drug needs to be banned .


Leave a Reply

