Duncan James beats his Seroxat addiction

Duncan James (who used to be in boyband Blue) has recently spoken about Seroxat (Paxil) and the terrible trouble he had trying to stop taking the drug.

So it seems Duncan is the same as me and, I’m sure, many of you reading this – but we must all be wrong about our addiction to Seroxat and it being an evil drug that causes terrible withdrawal problems.

But how can we be so wrong?

Simply because Glaxo says so… they still peddle the myth that Seroxat is safe, that it’s not addictive in any way and any withdrawal effects are “minor and short lived”.

In the real world though, we patients know different.

I’m very glad that Duncan James has had the courage to talk about his problems. Every bit of publicity can only help to get the truth heard and his one interview will have reached hundreds of thousands of more people than me and this blog in 3 years of writing.

Thanks Duncan and I hope you’re doing better.

Read the whole interview at the Daily Mail:

He says the confusion about his sexuality, combined with the death of his grandparents, a former girlfriend becoming pregnant with his baby, and the breakup of Blue, led to a deep depression.
‘For a long time my head was so mixed up I didn’t know what was going on,’ he says.

‘The band were so huge and we were everywhere. I didn’t quite know who I was and I didn’t have a moment to sit down and figure it out. Then there was the fact that I had a daughter on the way – that wasn’t planned, her mother and I weren’t even together.’

‘And when Blue split up it really hit me. I was put on anti-depressants. I would go to see my psychiatrist and I would be in there crying and shaking.

He says that as he started feeling stronger he decided to come off his antidepressant, Seroxat. But the sideeffects of coming off made him feel worse than ever.

Duncan says: ‘I was on something like 40 milligrams a day and the doctor said you can’t just stop them.

‘It took me about a year to get off them and I was so ill trying to do it.
‘I was working on the National Lottery show, and I was getting panic attacks live on TV reading out the numbers and just about keeping it together.
‘Inside, I was thinking: “I can’t do this.” ’

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

