1 Boring Old Man… & Chuck Nemeroff

A retired Doctor (the 1 Boring old Man) writes about Nemeroff and Ghostwriting:

Like Dr. Healy, I have some personal reasons for being upset about all of this. In 1974, I changed careers from Internal Medicine to Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis because of an interest in the mind, and I never looked back. I was in academic medicine at Emory University after retraining. In the early 1980’s, a new Chairman arrived, and it was clear that my interests were not compatible with the wave of Biological Psychiatry that was sweeping the specialty, and I left for private practice, continuing to teach in the Psychoanalytic Institute, but no longer involved with the Psychiatry Department. At that time, I wasn’t bitter and enjoyed my private practice. A few years later, Dr. Nemeroff became Chairman. I had little to no contact with him, but heard plenty. During the decade that followed, Psychiatry changed so much I hardly recognized it. The journals were filled with drug research and meetings became monotonous and boring.

I learned about the new drugs, and found that the SSRI’s were effective in controlling depressive and obsessive compulsive symptoms in certain cases, and so I prescribed them, but my main work was as a psychotherapist and psychoanalyst. I personally thought that the “Biological Wave” was something of a fad that would pass in time – finding its appropriate place. But then I began to realize, along with lots of other colleagues, that the “Biological Wave” was more than a fad, it had a motor – the Pharmaceutical Industry looking for profit. I resented the intrusion of Drug Companies into the practice of Psychiatry and into academic medicine – the place where practitioners looked for guidance. As time went on, I further learned that the intrusion had reached criminal proportions with university physicians in on the the game. That is absolutely infuriating! And a lot of it was centered at my University [Emory], in my town [Atlanta, Georgia], where I practiced – so I’m hardly unbiased in this matter. That is my own conflict of interest statement in toto.

Read the entire post here.

Thanks to Soulful Sepulcher for this… and keep with all the latest news from Stephany on Twitter: @soulflsepulcher

One Response to “1 Boring Old Man… & Chuck Nemeroff”

  1. Lynn Says:

    Do you know if anyone official is trying to get correct info into textbooks?


Leave a Reply

