Confirmation that there is a difference between Seroxat/Paxil and other SSRIs

A very topical subject this – it seems that Seroxat is actually different from other SSRIs… but I’m worried that it has come just too late.

Before you read this article please bear in mind that no-one actually knows just how SSRIs work – the hypothesis of chemical imbalance has been exposed as a lie.

However, what this new research does seem to point to is that Seroxat/Paxil acts in a different way to other SSRIs – perhaps this could explain why Seroxat/Paxil is so hard to stop taking?

The most widely prescribed antidepressants — medicines such as Prozac, Lexapro and Paxil — work by blocking the serotonin transporter, a brain protein that normally clears away the mood-regulating chemical serotonin. Or so the current thinking goes.

That theory about how selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) work can now be put to the test with a new mouse model developed by neuroscientists at Vanderbilt University.

These mice, described in the online edition of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), express a serotonin transporter that has been genetically altered so that it does not respond to many SSRIs or cocaine.

In addition to testing the theory about how SSRIs work, the new mouse model could lead to the development of entirely new classes of antidepressant medications, said Randy Blakely, Ph.D., Allan D. Bass Professor of Pharmacology and Psychiatry at Vanderbilt and senior author of the PNAS paper.

“Many antidepressants have been shown to target other proteins besides the serotonin transporter and … their efficacy in treating depression takes many weeks to develop,” Blakely said. “There is likely a lot that we don’t know about how these drugs act.”

To generate the mouse model, Blakely and colleagues at Vanderbilt and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio first determined exactly which parts of the serotonin transporter protein interact with SSRIs. They took advantage of the fact that the fruit fly expresses a serotonin transporter that is relatively insensitive to the drugs.

By changing the protein’s amino acid building blocks, they converted parts of the human serotonin transporter into its fruit fly equivalent, and in so doing identified the single amino acid required for potent binding to many SSRIs as well as to cocaine.

As predicted, the genetically-modified mice displayed normal serotonin transporter levels, and their transporter exhibited normal activity in clearing serotonin from the synapses between nerve cells. But the mice did not respond to Prozac or Lexapro, indicating that the transporter is indeed the specific target of these medications for blocking serotonin inactivation.

“Interestingly, one SSRI, paroxetine (Paxil), retains its normal powerful action on the transporter, revealing that — at a molecular level — different antidepressants interact with the transporter in different ways,” Blakely said.

The researchers are now evaluating chronic administration of SSRIs to determine how much the transporter contributes to the more clinically relevant, delayed effects of these drugs, as well as for the side effects experience with antidepressant medications.

Because the serotonin transporter in the mouse also lost cocaine sensitivity, the model also may help researchers determine exactly how cocaine acts in the brain. “Perhaps what started as a hunt for better ways to treat depression may also spill over into a better understanding of addiction,” Blakely said.

Brent Thompson, Ph.D., is the first author of the PNAS paper. Blakely directs the Center for Molecular Neuroscience and the Silvio O. Conte Center for Neuroscience Research at Vanderbilt.

Douglas McMahon, Ph.D., professor of Biological Sciences and Pharmacology at Vanderbilt, also collaborated on the research, which was supported by the National Institutes of Health.

14 Responses to “Confirmation that there is a difference between Seroxat/Paxil and other SSRIs”

  1. Lynn Says:

    Wow. Were they saying that they thought that Paxil works like cocaine?

  2. Halaluani Says:

    There are differences between all SSRIs. Despite these differences, Seroxat users have not cornered the market on suffering when trying to discontinue an SSRI or for that matter any other antidepressant. I’ve worked with people discontinuing these drugs for well over 20 years now. They are ALL difficult to stop taking. The one exception to this is some people who have been on only one drug for less than 2 years are sometimes able to discontinue an antidepressant with less difficulty than others.

    But a great injustice is done whenever people focus solely on Seroxat as being the only problem drug.

    Big Pharma created these drugs in order to make patients for life. To do this they had to create drugs that greatly disrupt normal brain function by altering brain structure. They succeeded in accomplishing this; hence, the problems virtually all psychotropic drugs present hen people want to discontinue them.

    • Halaluani Says:

      Hi Lynn,

      What the article said was that they “identified a single amino acid required for potent binding to many SSRIs as well as to cocaine.” Note the term “many SSRIs”.

      Regards,
      Halaluani

  3. Dan Says:

    Having been in a position where the drug was forced upon me or a sadistic alternative while trapped in an abusive cult like position, I was addicted to Seroxat, I am now away from that situation and done some research on the chemicals which where approved because they attach themselves to the amygdala glad’s of certain RH genomes, meaning 7% of all people on the drug will suffer permanent damage.

    And that’s WHY it was approved, written right in the Seroxat/Paxil research notes!! WTF.
    The amygdala controls chemicals secreted in the lymphatic system that induce physical emotion, when you are in the 7% that are effected the chemicals produced are the same as fear and anger, as these chemicals break down they are turned in to MRNH which in turn causes chemically induced schizophrenia, further down the road are severe memory and neurological problems.

    ClaxoSmithCline designed the drug to chemically bond to a certain type of persons brain to deliberately cause this damage which is clear in there research notes.
    No amount of suing them will undo the damage they have done to me, which is more sadistic than just shooting me in the head.

    If they made a chemical bond to my Amygdala permanently, then I want them to provide me with compensation, I want a chemical that unbonds seroxat, and I want them shut down and put in prison where they belong, that is the only acceptable justice, I have suffered the side effects of this drug for YEARS, and the chemicals being created in my brain as a result of Seroxat are every second of the day.

    Every second I breath, everything I experience I am with the feeling of terror as if there where a gun to my head, it doesn’t go away where I switch off the lights, or when I relax to watch some TV, some may interpret the feeling as a rush of addiction but to me, it induces a constant anger and fear reaction physically, if I loose conscientiousness over my body then anger or fear can take over my mind, this feels like my very shoul is being rapped and ripped apart by emotions all of the time.

    How TF if putting a sadistic scientist in jail for a few years going to be justice ?
    How would 20 million dollars be compensation for what I suffer every waking moment of my life, thanks to the damage Seroxat has done ?

  4. Dan Says:

    If you want to reply to me, then please reply to this comment as I forgot to subscibe on the last comment

    • Lynn Says:

      I’m so sorry for all you’ve been through. I was damaged less than you by Celexa and Trazodone and it took me at least seven years before I felt the intensity and explosiveness start to reduce. Please try to hang in there. I think time will cause at least some healing in your brain. I think good nutrition and supportive therapy like schema therapy will help you over the next several years to get to a place of less suffering. It took me an amazingly long time to feel better, but I do now. It is awful to try to accept that you have been damaged and that you have to try to develop for yourself a life you can stand without the things and abilities you had before you took the drug, but I think working on that will help you. We people damaged by ssri’s have legitimate grief we have to go through. Letting go is something you will realize in several years as you look back at all you have lost, all that was taken away, and you realize that you are the only person who can help you. You have to learn the self-supportive emotional techniques in a book like Reinventing Your Life, and don’t give up. Don’t let the bastards win. You can get through this emotional tsunami. The little schema therapy I got and the research on psychology I have done, the writing I did for myself of all my feelings and beliefs really did help me find some peace. Please hang in there. Please get a copy of that book.
      Good luck,
      Lynn

    • Reeq Says:

      Hey Dan,

      I really feel for u…………and u certainly have done ur research. There are people out there in white suits who are children inside, they made us guinea pigs and the fact that they can make such things is proof to me these are not adults we are dealing with. Ive started to realise a lot of doctors are brainwashed and have swallowed any text book thrown at them. There are few that actually know or listen about the subject. Yet they told me keep taking ur Paroxetine by all means if u think u may fall pregnant as I approached them with the research I had done. It is scary theway they act so cock sure. On there heads be it. I literally stopped mine 4-5 days ago because I think I juct conceived and unlike those doctors i wont put my unborn at risk…even if it kills me. I wrote another post on here explaining in more detail my situation, today i go to the docs once again to have them look at me in the most closed way and get them to listen.

      You can help people your knowledge is very impressive and talking to u feels far better than talking to those people called ‘doctors’

      Dan i want ur advice I can do this cold turkeying because I am strong for my baby and I am not working I left so i can go thru this. Tell me am i putting my baby at further risk by suddenley stopping? The doctors say there is not enough resarch on this particular question i raise. Re suddenly stopping and pregnancy. All i read is DONT STOP SUDDNELY everywhere but i get the impression its because of withdraal symtoms alone or is it more sinister do u think??? Longterm for me and my baby? Does the sudden stop cause shock in some way to the brain?? Ilearnt serotonin actually plays a part in the fetus’s development and can affect its sexual organs…and heart too.

      I will do what is best for my baby or decide to terminate if it all spells disastor because i dont wish to be like those bastar** in white suits and mess up another persons lifeknowingly nor gamble with it.

      Should I take some liquid form do u think ? I have read peoples stories who weened off and still suffered immensly and long term so i question the weening approach. I would have weened off all the same but no i cant bear to put another demonic pill in my mouth agn.

      Lots of praise and respect
      Reeq

    • Reeq Says:

      and Dan,
      I believe the power of the mind is unimaginable too, keep faith with a mind like yours you will get better, create new cells, feel them develop them in ur mind- like a miracle…and every day meditate if u can and excersize and eat well these three things will change the energy within u…all u can do now is counter act and use ur own intelligence to do so. Raise ur serotonin…get ur body working like a machine. I strongly feel u can alter the balance and create something within… I am a spiritual person and in the last few years I learnt so much about this world and all we are spoonfed. The mind is boundless. I am taking this approach and i excersize aevery few hours by riding my bike to counteract those negative feelings and sensations. Its working. Nw i just got to know to keep going with it. I will never give up in the fight against the evils of this world…….

      Lots of praise and respect
      Reeq

      ps. It has been proven muscles react far more to when a person exersizes and puts there consciousness on the muslces worked than just drifts away to the music they r listening to for example, to the degree that mentally excersizing alone (with no physical activity) still produces results. Take what u can from this example. Think of urself as enlightened with knowledge and a beam of power/energy that can reverse all that has been damged. Believe it. It will make u feel energy within u. and it may even work.. however slight it possibly can. I have overcome things in my lifetime by myself incl bulimia anorexia, post traumatic stress following what i went thru with my terminally ill father for years, u name it. My mistake was taking seroxat. But I will not let this mother fu**er beat me. My mindis back alert and sharp and i forgot how that feels. I am appreciating being awake and feeling anger emotions again. Now we need to find the reigns to control these wild horses!
      Sorry I know its long and u may have got two of the same messages because i realised i needed to reply to u directly😉 and thank u for ur post. Lets unite sufferers.

    • Reeq Says:

      and seriously In our lifetimes we will contribute to bringing those M f’rs down we will educate people likeu have me. This man is an inspiration to us all – Bob Fiddaman pls read up on him on the net. He won an award for what he proved re SSRis.

  5. Reeq Says:

    Hey Dan,

    I really feel for u…………and u certainly have done ur research. There are people out there in white suits who are children inside, they made us guinea pigs and the fact that they can make such things is proof to me these are not adults we are dealing with. Ive started to realise a lot of doctors are brainwashed and have swallowed any text book thrown at them. There are few that actually know or listen about the subject. Yet they told me keep taking ur Paroxetine by all means if u think u may fall pregnant as I approached them with the research I had done. It is scary theway they act so cock sure. On there heads be it. I literally stopped mine 4-5 days ago because I think I juct conceived and unlike those doctors i wont put my unborn at risk…even if it kills me. I wrote another post on here explaining in more detail my situation, today i go to the docs once again to have them look at me in the most closed way and get them to listen.

    You can help people your knowledge is very impressive and talking to u feels far better than talking to those people called ‘doctors’

    Dan i want ur advice I can do this cold turkeying because I am strong for my baby and I am not working I left so i can go thru this. Tell me am i putting my baby at further risk by suddenley stopping? The doctors say there is not enough resarch on this particular question i raise. Re suddenly stopping and pregnancy. All i read is DONT STOP SUDDNELY everywhere but i get the impression its because of withdraal symtoms alone or is it more sinister do u think??? Longterm for me and my baby? Does the sudden stop cause shock in some way to the brain?? Ilearnt serotonin actually plays a part in the fetus’s development and can affect its sexual organs…and heart too.

    I will do what is best for my baby or decide to terminate if it all spells disastor because i dont wish to be like those bastar** in white suits and mess up another persons lifeknowingly nor gamble with it.

    Should I take some liquid form do u think ? I have read peoples stories who weened off and still suffered immensly and long term so i question the weening approach. I would have weened off all the same but no i cant bear to put another demonic pill in my mouth agn.

    Lots of praise and respect
    Reeq

  6. Reeq Says:

    Hey Dan,
    I believe the power of the mind is unimaginable too, keep faith with a mind like yours you will get better, create new cells, feel them develop them in ur mind- like a miracle…and every day meditate if u can and excersize and eat well these three things will change the energy within u…all u can do now is counter act and use ur own intelligence to do so. Raise ur serotonin…get ur body working like a machine. I strongly feel u can alter the balance and create something within… I am a spiritual person and in the last few years I learnt so much about this world and all we are spoonfed. The mind is boundless. I am taking this approach and i excersize aevery few hours by riding my bike to counteract those negative feelings and sensations. Its working. Nw i just got to know to keep going with it. I will never give up in the fight against the evils of this world…….😉

    Lots of praise and respect
    Reeq

    ps. It has been proven muscles react far more to when a person exersizes and puts there consciousness on the muslces worked than just drifts away to the music they r listening to for example, to the degree that mentally excersizing alone (with no physical activity) still produces results. Take what u can from this example. Think of urself as enlightened with knowledge and a beam of power/energy that can reverse all that has been damged. Believe it. It will make u feel energy within u. and it may even work.. however slight it possibly can. I have overcome things in my lifetime by myself incl bulimia anorexia, post traumatic stress following what i went thru with my terminally ill father for years, u name it. My mistake was taking seroxat. But I will not let this mother fu**er beat me. My mindis back alert and sharp and i forgot how that feels. I am appreciating being awake and feeling anger emotions again. Now we need to find the reigns to control these wild horses!
    Sorry I know its long.

  7. Dan Says:

    Heya Reeq
    Thank You for your kind words😀, I’m going to do a little research to confirm a few things regarding pregnancy and the effects of seroxat before returning with any advice I can offer.
    I have been exercising and the effects on my mind have reduced but it is like burning your body out as a result :E.
    BBS🙂

  8. Reeq Says:

    Dan,

    Sorry to hear that, u must be excersizing a LOT? Bless ya. Thanks for the reply, depression made me unfit, not fat luckily but Im getting in better shape now than i have for a long time. Thanks for looking into that for me🙂 Today is probably day 5-6 for me and I am having withdrawal symptms of the just been on a roundabout kind been getting these on the other days but tday is worst…but otherwise im handling it somehow. feel my Dadmust be watching over me right now or something. For two days no nightmares either,its like im having dreams like i used to normal ones, whereas throughout Paroxetine I had the most horrific twisted dreams/nghtmares that would make me scream out loud , that I should of wrote down as the plots were so clever sometimes and warped…

    gosh Paroxetine what are u????

  9. Dana Schneider Says:

    Hey Dan,

    I just had an MRI done today of my brain. I have been on Paxil for 10 years. I just had to leave my job making 30.00 because I feel like my brain has been changed- I am curious about the role of the amygdala. Would this show up on an MRI? I am feeling completely detached, mentally not with it, scattered, scared, and having intrusive thoughts a lot.

    I was taking 15mg. a month ago and fine and then all the sudden one day I just got dizzy, and I haven’t been able to sleep in the last month.
    Dana


Leave a Reply

