It’s a marathon – not a sprint.

Well, I never… Seroxat Secrets has just passed 500,000 unique visits. That’s half a million hits.

OK, it took a few years to get here, but I hope it’s been worthwhile and that the blog has helped a few people along the way.

My first post was in 2006 and when I started writing I wanted to create an internet resource that would gather together information and links and allow people to make an informed choice about the medication they were taking – or were about to take. I wanted to provide a counterpoint to the lies and spin that pharmaceutical companies turn out under the guise of ‘marketing’.

A few years ago I added a page to Seroxat Secrets, ‘What I believe’ – and it’s still what I believe:

I believe Seroxat is defective and dangerous.
I believe that Glaxo has hidden negative clinical trial data that shows exactly how dangerous a drug it is.
I believe that Seroxat is addictive.
I believe that Seroxat can cause anger, aggression and violence.
I believe that something must be done to help people who suffer terrible problems during withdrawal, as they desperately try to stop taking Seroxat.
I believe that doctors have taken large sums of money from Glaxo to lie about the efficacy and safety of the drug.
I believe that GlaxoSmithKline puts profits before patients – their wealth before our health.
I took Seroxat for 9 years and it took me 22 months to withdraw from the drug little by little. Believe me – I know what I’m talking about.

There is just one thing I’d add to this list today:

Glaxo must not be allowed to get away with it.

4 Responses to “It’s a marathon – not a sprint.”

  1. solo49 Says:

    That’s a terrific record. The determination you’ve harnessed in slowly but surely withdrawing from Seroxat has set a strong and hopeful example to others who may be experiencing similar problems; the misleading and even criminal methods used on a Corporate scale to talk up these mind altering drugs prior to capitalisation and marketing to largely captive sectors such as the NHS needing also to be looked at and properly dealt with .

    Sadly, there are many problem psych drugs out there. But the biggest problem seems to be the people who wilfully, recklessly and carelessly push them for profit (and job security) over and above the simple medical requirements of ‘patients’. To do nothing about these issues is more or less to consent to totalitarianism and being ruled by farmyard behaviourism chiefly at the hands of government.. It’s great that you’ve gone the extra mile to warn people.

    • mindy Says:

      Hello, My name is Mindy and I have been on Paxil for 16 years following a terrible depression for cervical cancer.Paxil did help me get back together. For years now i was feeling fine and a few months ago felt awful.. to make a long story short I felt the Paxil was not working any more…just poooped out. Now I am being weaned off and it is the hardest thing ever, i cry, have so much anxiety, out of body stuff. etc that at times I feel l ike I am lossing my mind.. if any one out there can help me with advice I would apprecaite it from the bottom of my heart I need to remain strong and get through this. thanks in advance Mindy oxoox Mindys253@aol.com

  2. truthman30 Says:

    Simply astounding, inspiring and amazing achievement mr blogger! ..

    Well done, I’d be very proud of it..
    🙂

  3. annie Says:

    Yes, congratulations, and, I agree, you should feel very proud for what you have achieved. Your blog is sensible, articulate and strong in your beliefs.
    Thanks a million for the support it gives and long may you continue.


Leave a Reply

