2016…

Happy new year to you all – here’s to a big 2016… and who knows what might happen in the next 12 months!

As ever, this time of the year prompts one to reflect on the past – and also to think about the future – and generally just have a bit of a ramble which is what this is.

I don’t really use Facebook very much but I have seen a group there – Paroxetine Paxil Seroxat Withdrawal – which seems to be a very supportive community and I would suggest you take a look if you haven’t already.

Two things stood out for me while reading the posts on the group’s page.

Firstly, it really is beyond belief that Doctors are STILL prescribing Seroxat/Paxil in 2016. Surely by now, Docs around the world should be aware of all the problems surrounding Seroxat. Glaxo’s manipulation of the drug trials and the way the company hid negative data is no longer a secret – have a look here  and here

Secondly, it seems that healthcare ‘professionals’ have little or no idea how to advise the best way to withdraw from Seroxat. Again, in 2016, there is no excuse for this – neither is there an excuse for any Doctor to deny that patients may well suffer from terrible problems when they try to stop taking Seroxat.

Of course, Glaxo has (in)famously never offered any kind of meaningful withdrawal advice – to do so would be an admission that there is a huge problem with Seroxat… and that would would be bad for business. And we can’t have that, can we?

When I withdrew, I used the 10% rule (and liquid Seroxat) – I never reduced by more than 10% of my current dose and I stabilised for a long time between reductions, waiting until I felt strong enough to try the next reduction. I never put any time limit on the process, rather kept telling myself at least I was moving forward, no matter how slowly. It took me 22 months to stop completely and then a few years

I’ve been writing this blog for quite a while now, so apologies as I’ve just noticed some links in my posts have ‘died’ over the course of the years – I still like to think there’s a lot of good info available here on Seroxat Secrets.

So, deep breath, here we go – it’s another year coming up!

7 Responses to “2016…”

  1. truthman30 Says:

    Happy New Year 🙂

  2. Moira Says:

    Prescribed seroxat for the past 10 years, following severe episode of depression. Initially Citilipan which didn’t suit me.
    About three weeks ago I ran out of Seroxat and took a decision not to apply for a repeat. I appreciate this was not the way to withdraw from medication which I was prescribed such a long time.
    This week was a culmination of hell and requested a repeat of Seroxat. Receiving my meds I found Stertraline 50mg? Ringing the pharmacy I was informed they were a replacement drug! Thereupon this has sent me down the research(in the loosest of terms) route and still no nearer the correlation of Paroxitine and Sertraline. However it has led me to this blog, whereupon I am absolutely gobsmacked regarding the information I have read. I have been trying to explain this helicopter head to people and my GP along with severe tremors, nausea, dizziness which resulted in lying in bed…which seemed to be the safest place to be. AND having a go at my husband this week with no rhyme or reason.have taken one Sertraline today, and reflecting on my behaviour when my husband brought them back from the chemist, an ADDICT is the only word suitable.

    • Lynn Says:

      Dear Moira,
      I am so sorry for how this drug has hurt you. If you have not gotten off it yet, you might want to look for a book by Joseph Glenmullen, The Anti-depressant Solution, which validates your experience and this blogger’s experience withdrawing. Dr. Glenmullen teaches at Harvard, so your GP might believe him and help you better.
      Good luck.
      Lynn


Leave a comment