GSK pouring salt into your wounds…

So… it’s been a while and as I’m sure people will be aware of, I don’t keep this blog up to date anymore.

There has been lots of water under the bridge and I’ve been lucky in that I have (almost completely) recovered and there are so many more campaigners out in the world today than when I started writing this back in 2006.

Sometimes though I hear some news that makes me want to scream – and today is one of those days.

I saw this in a tweet – GSK Discontinues Production of Liquid Paroxetine (Seroxat).

The tweet was from the good folks at Mad in America and I really had to read it a few times to let the news sink in… it’s beyond belief GSK is going to stop making liquid Seroxat.

For all too many patients, the liquid formulation is the ONLY way that they can slowly taper off the drug in a way that works. With no tapering strips available (I don’t think?) or small dose tablets (1mg/0.5mg), people are going to be fucked without the liquid.

I know – it took me almost 24 months to slowly reduce using the liquid back in 2004. Even using the liquid it was almost unbearable – and unachievable.

And GSK have the absolute fucking brass neck to say“GSK has decided to discontinue manufacturing, supply and marketing of paroxetine hydrochloride oral suspension products. We recognise that paroxetine hydrochloride oral suspension is an important medicine for some patients and regret any inconvenience the discontinuation may cause.”

It’s clear that the current GSK is exactly the same as the old GlaxoSmithKline.

GSK does not care anything for patients that have been – and continue to be – damaged by their drug.

I have no words.

Leave a comment